Bullion Index





imageedit_5_3949838586

Website Investments

Bullion Index

Gold Bullion - Silver Bullion - Platinum Bullion - Gold Coin

Silver Coin - Platinum Coin - Trade Bullion - Buy Bullion






Coinage Of The United States ? A Short History

RRP $18.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

The history of United States coinage is a story that parallels the rise of America. Starting from a humble beginning in a basement in Philadelphia in the first few years of the country, it grew to a large highly sophisticated system that produces millions of coins per year. Due to a lack of silver, the first silver coins produced by the Mint came from silverware contributed by George and Martha Washington. Coins are something we take for granted today and put in jars and baskets on our night stands to accumulate for a rainy day when we need a few extra dollars. For more than half of the history of America, that wouldn't have been possible for the average citizen. It wasn't until after the Civil War that coinage became widely used for all types of transactions. Until that time, barter and money substitutes, such as tokens, script, and foreign coins, were used as a mediums of exchange. During the 1830's, and then again during the Civil War, coins were in such short supply that merchants and private individuals began producing cent-sized coins, just to make change for the day to day transactions. In America, it was legal until 1857 to use foreign money in transactions. The Spanish dollars and their fractional parts, called "bits," were very common during colonial times until the mid-1800s.
President Theodore Roosevelt sparked a change in the designs on coins from a standardized institutional theme to more artistic and attractive designs. The President enlisted the help of one of the country's most prominent sculptors to create some of the most beautiful coins in the history of the country and, perhaps, the entire world. Until recent times, the value of the silver and gold coins depended on their intrinsic metal value. This was a constant headache for the Mint, as the value of gold and silver would rise, and the coins would disappear from circulation to be melted and sold for their bullion value. It wasn't until 1964 that the Mint totally abandoned precious metals for the day-to-day coinage and changed the composition to what we see today as modern copper-nickel clad coinage.
Come and take the journey into what seems so ubiquitous today and learn the fascinating history of these little metal objects in our pockets and purses.

30 Minute Book Series

Each book in the "30 Minute Book Series" is fast paced, well written, and accurate for a book that covers the topic in as much detail as a short book allows. In less than an hour, you can read or listen to the book - a perfect companion for a lunch hour or a nice distraction for a train ride home from work.

About the Author

Doug West is a retired engineer, small business owner, and an experienced non-fiction writer with several books to his credit. His writing interests are general, with special expertise in science, biographies, numismatics, and "How to" topics. Doug has a Ph.D. in General Engineering from Oklahoma State University.


Silver Coin Pricing Guide, 1800-2000

RRP $18.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

This is a guide for people who buy and sell silver coins-on eBay, on other Internet websites, at coin shows or coin stores, or elsewhere. It is intended for those who buy or sell coins based on their investment value, rather than their design or scarcity. This book displays the bullion value of silver coins for every world nation and year of origin between 1800 and 2000. An alphabetical listings of countries and denominations (and sometimes a simple addition), shows the base value of any common silver coin. This is vital information, because many current coin guides have not recalculated bullion values, and continue to estimate coin value based on silver prices from a time when it was worth only a fraction of today's value.


Roman Silver Coins

RRP $18.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

For the first time, the most commonly encountered silver Roman coins can be inexpensively identified and some idea of value can be gained. Whether you are setting out to form a collection of every emperor or are already an experienced Roman Coin collector, you will not be able to put this book down! The line drawings of most obverse types mean that the legend is clear and readable in the book, and it makes a great aid to identification, as does the alphabetical list of emperors/empresses in the back of the book. This book includes an identification guide for republican coins, instructions on cleaning Roman silver coins and a list of Roman mint town mintmarks. It also includes an alphabetical list of Emperors/Caesars/Empresses and information of Roman coin grading. The book is ordered chronologically, and with the introduction of different coin types clearly mentioned, together with some historical notes, it also gives an easy to follow explanation of the Roman base metal coinage and how it changed over 750 years.


Searching For A Silver Lining

RRP $19.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

It began with a promise ...

Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything...

When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong.

Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining will take you on a trip you'll never forget.

About the Author

Miranda Dickinson has always had a head full of stories. From an early age she dreamed of writing a book that would make the heady heights of Kingswinford Library and today she is a bestselling author. She began to write in earnest when a friend gave her The World's Slowest PC, and has subsequently written the bestselling novels Fairytale of New York, Welcome to My World, It Started With a Kiss, When I Fall in Love, Take A Look At Me Now, I'll Take New York and A Parcel for Anna Browne. Miranda lives with her husband Bob and daughter Flo in Dudley.


The Flip Of A Coin

RRP $27.50

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

In July 2010, eleven-year-old Anoush experienced the horrors of brain cancer.

Over the next 3 years Anoush vividly described in her diary the challenges of living in so much of illness, and with her sheer will power along with family support, her victory against the dreaded disease.

This unexpurgated, unambiguous text provides a deeply moving and unforgettable portrait of Anoush, along the way where her experiences could well turn around the quality of life for the betterment and give hope to children affiliated with similar illness & their families who could well over-come the trauma.



Search

Bullion Index Articles

Gold Bullion Silver Bullion Platinum Bullion Gold Coin
Silver Coin Platinum Coin Trade Bullion Buy Bullion
Sell Bullion

Bullion Index Books

Gold Bullion Silver Bullion Platinum Bullion Gold Coin
Silver Coin Platinum Coin Trade Bullion Buy Bullion
Sell Bullion

Bullion Index





imageedit_5_3949838586

Website Investments